Thinking Outside of the Video Game Box

NESClassicEdition_photo_01__png_jpgcopy.0.0

My latest tweet talked about Nintendo releasing a small version of the NES in November and I was overjoyed. The idea of being able to play some of my favourite Nintendo games such as Super Mario Bros, Donkey Kong and Ice Climber filled my Nostalgic heart with glee.

Outside of naturism, video games is my next favourite thing to do. I loved them as a child, being able to play for hours and hours on the likes of a NES or Super Nintendo or Gamecube (we were a Nintendo household as you can guess) allowed me to escape the real world and jump into the imaginative worlds that lay in these cartridges or disks.

My favourite game without any question is Super Mario Bros 3. It was such a revolutionary game at the time of its release. After Super Mario Bros 2 had been a success but the gameplay was not as brilliant as the first, Nintendo went big with these new worlds such as Ice Land, Giant Land, Pipe Land and Dark Land. The level design and the new powers they gave to Mario were amazing such as the Tanooki Suit and Racoon Mario allowing him to fly were just jaw dropping. The game was well ahead of its time and would inspire other classics such as Super Mario World and Super Mario 64.

Other franchises that I have enjoyed include Crash Bandicoot, Donkey Kong Country, Sonic the Hedgehog and the Grand Theft Auto Series. I would say Sonic the Hedgehog 2 would be my 2nd favourite as the level design continued on from the immense success of the first game, added the spindash and introduced Tails as his sidekick. The ability to play as Sonic or Tails on their own allowed players to use Tails’ flying ability as well as his speed which was just superb.

Super Mario Kart, Mario Party, CTR: Crash Team Racing, Crash Bandicoot 3, Crash Bandicoot 2….there were just so many games that I loved playing and would love to play again.

Leave a Reply

